The Best Salted Caramel Sauce

Well guys, we are FARM OWNERS! Yep! We finally signed the papers and received the title to our very own 45 acres, with a farmhouse! It still feels so surreal but we are excited and can’t wait to begin the renovations in making this place our homestead.

I read a quote the other day that said “What if I accept that what I really want is a small, slow, simple life. A mediocre life. A beautiful, quiet, gentle life. I think it is enough.” I don’t know who wrote it but they were speaking to my spirit.

And that is exactly what I see when I think about our future on the farm. A simple, beautiful, gentle life. Life with chickens, cattle, goats (kids request), our own garden, and all the homemade jams and sauces my little farmhouse kitchen can store. (In cute little glass jars of course)

I had been wanting to attempt my hand at making my own caramel and chocolate sauces (this will be next), so one evening I just went for it! I had all the ingredients, which are ONLY 3, and whipped up the most delicious caramel sauce I’ve ever had.

The first taste and I knew we had a winner! My 12 year old may have said something along the lines of “This stuff could make you a millionaire.” I wouldn’t go that far, buddy. But maybe we should call this the Millionaire Sauce because it definitely tastes like a million bucks to me. 😉

The BEST Salted Caramel Sauce

  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cups of SALTED butter – I love and use Vital Farms Butter with Sea Salt
  • 1 cup Heavy Whipping cream – room temperature

Directions

1. Heat sugar, in a medium sauce pan, over medium heat. When you see the sugar begin to melt, start whisking!

2. Whisk continually until sugar completely dissolved. At this point you can slow your whisk down. But keep an eye on your sugar, this is the stage it can burn.

3. Melted sugar will become a golden amber color. IT’s GORGEOUS! Now, add your butter and whisk till butter has melted and both sugar and butter are combined.

4. Slowly whisk in the heavy cream. Be sure your cream is at room temperature or your Carmel will begin to harden and clump on you.

5. Remove from burner and let cool for about 10 minutes. Transfer to a glass jar and store in the fridge. This sauce will keep for one month.

Serve over ice-I cream. Drizzle over your favorite latte. Dip our Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookie in it. You can’t go wrong with this caramel sauce. But beware…….you may find yourself wanting to hide away in the corner to simply stick your entire face in the jar. 😉

“They broke bread and ate with glad and sincere hearts.” – Acts 2:28

Leave a comment